Smoke’s Poutinerie

Stopped into Smoke’s after an adamant suggestion from a friend of mine who’s from Toronto (where the chain began), claiming that this was the site of one of the best poutines he’s ever had.  I’m not a poutine person, in the couple of years I’d spent in Montreal, I can count on one hand how many times I’ve had this Quebec staple of fries, cheese curds and meaty fatty gravy.  But it was freezing cold, I hadn’t eaten for most of the day and it was close.  They have two sizes, small and large, a large is literally the size of a small baby, so for those who want value, definitely go for the size upgrade as its only a couple of bucks more.  They have a limited menu of a non-standard poutine flavors, Philly Cheesesteak, Hog Town, Nacho Veggie, plus the regular plain poutine.  Prices range from $6 to $10 per box.

I ordered the Country Style Poutine, slow roasted chicken breast, double smoked bacon, sauteed mushrooms and caramelized onions.

01112011

Man, was this thing soaked in shining grease.  I literally had to dive head first into this thing and tried to load a bit of everything onto my plastic fork.  First impressions: everything a poutine got famous for.  The fries weren’t as crispy as I would’ve preferred though, and there was so much grease-laden topping on top, that it took a bit of effort to mix it all together.  The curds weren’t melty enough but the toppings took care of that. 

I ended up not being able to finish it, and attempting to rescue the pieces of protein that I could salvage from the soup remains at the bottom.

Overall though, got my fat fix for a week, ended up being the fullest I’d been since Christmas break and didn’t feel like puking at the end, but I did feel like hibernating for a good couple of days.

above average poutine, and only because of the topping volume and pure fatty goodness.

407 Dalhousie St.

Ottawa ON

www.smokespoutinerie.com

Leave a Reply

