Sausage Kitchen

Sorry for the lack of pictures, but I haven’t been able to bring my camera around with me as much as I would like to. I hope text would suffice for now.

After a morning of photography, I was starving and thinking only of cheap food, walked up and down the streets of Byward Market.  Sausage Kitchen had a sign outside advertising $3.50 sausage on a bun, so hey, why not?

Very small little deli, with the display taking up half of the store, and a few aisles of various “sausage accompaniments”.  I didn’t check the sausages out, but I did look at the ready-made foods.  There was a variety of about 6 sausages, two different kinds of fries, a regular and then a seasoned, sauerkraut and some other side dishes.  I picked the Hot Italian sausage, the others were cajun, regular, turkey, bratwurst.  THe man behind the counter topped it with LOADS of sauerkraut (good thing!), mustard and a bit of mayo.

First bite, very good.  The sauerkraut was very stewy and was a bit more meat flavored than sour (there were sausage bits in the sauerkraut), and the sausage itself was tender but not crumbly and the casing wasn’t chewy and broke easily.  The bun was a light and slightly toasted white bun that was a bit on the dry side but quickly soaked up the juices of the sausage and the sauerkraut.  Because of how much they loaded, it did get a bit messy, but overall, I was full at the end and very satisfied.  Great little gem in the Market.  They also have pork and chicken schnitzel and apparently the best pierogies in ottawa, but it’ll have to wait until next time for me to verify that 🙂

www.sausagekitchen.ca

5 Byward Market Square
Ottawa, ON K1N 9B8

Leave a Reply

